I'm an editor and proofreader with 5 years of experience

I'm an editor and proofreader with 5 years of experience.

Ask me anything: Pitching, success, working as a writer, the ins and outs of the publishing industry. Maybe I can help you.

Attached: 1410193498442.jpg (500x500, 285K)

What were some of your biggest contracts? Or what are some of the most popular and/or acclaimed books that you've worked on?

what is the most common method of getting published? do people just send emails to publishers and ask them to look at the first chapter of their novel or whatever and hope they take interest?

How stern is 'average word count' for publication? Would a novel that has dense diction be given more 'leeway' to reaching the threshold, or is the average an industry standard?
Not OP, but most publishers have open reading periods for you to submit manuscripts. A single chapter is almost never going to be enough, you need to finish your manuscript. Every college kid in this country has a first chapter. Finish your work.

I'm sorry. Can't answer that. I don't want to reveal my identity.

I am not going to lie to you. It's very hard to get an editor's attention if you're a nobody, unless the editor is just starting out their career and still think they will find the next Franz Kafka. Not when there are so many people on the internet who have charisma, talent, and very strong followings (read: money in the editor's bank)

If you want to go the traditional way, your safest bet is to pitch ideas for human-interest features to magazines and newspapers. If you're any good, you will eventually meet the right people.

>larping
should've known

I understand you don't want to dox yourself but if we don't even know the quality of the people you work with, how could we take your advice for true?

Some markets encourage longer works (biography comes to mind) but brevity is always preferred.