Tfw I found out that the novel I've been writing for the past 8 years, which I thought had an exceptional premise...

>tfw I found out that the novel I've been writing for the past 8 years, which I thought had an exceptional premise, turns out to be nothing more than an unimaginative re-hasing of Nozick's experience machine thought experiment

Where do I go from here lads?

Attached: sadpepe.jpg (2712x2712, 386K)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=d-BfjHbHj60
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

You realize that many of the great works weren't original, nor did they have to be original to be great.

Attached: 1539621072094.gif (500x375, 371K)

>he has been writing a single novel for 8 years
OH NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO

Attached: 6aa51e284a843048c829cbb94bc066fc.jpg (640x633, 87K)

Yeah but the whole strength of the novel lies on the premise, which I had taken to be completely original. Without that, I'm completely reliant on my writing, which simply isn't good enough to stand up to scrutiny

Rome wasn't built in a day

>8 years
reminds me of this family guy sketch youtube.com/watch?v=d-BfjHbHj60

I've written a play in literally one day on a ton of Vyvanse and I'm satisfied with it; and even the guys on Yea Forums who scathingly talk shit on everything liked it. If you take 8 years to write a fucking novel, just do something else lmao.

Nah, I'm just joking. Why don't you post some excerpt of your novel for us to see?

Dude, just fucking copy some other novels, like, take some random novels you like and just mix them up and create something new lmao.

Attached: 1394761438494.gif (240x234, 2.72M)

There's plenty to re-evaluate about the experience machine with the advent of VR. A technology which also had a couple decades of speculative literature that can be revisited.
You can also explore the point you were trying to make in a more nuanced fashion, or attempt to retain your initial thoughts and explore from there.