Is this actually worth reading or is it just a meme?

Is this actually worth reading or is it just a meme?

Is it better in Chinese? I'm taking a chinese course after summer

Attached: art of war.jpg (1662x2560, 141K)

I liked it. I'm not an expert on this subject but I think this book is essential if you want to read some literature about war, strategies, etc. Also almost every paragraph in translation I've read has explanation with interpretations by some Chinese philosophers like Sorai and even they interprented the same words differently. So I doubt your Chinese is good enough to understand it.

I haven't gotten to far into it myself but there was another author who made a point about books that could be seen as a meme. His point was that even if you may not find it that great in the end, if you know a lot of other people read it and take from it, you will better understand their reasoning.

I think it's a meme. Never heard it mentioned in a philosophical context.

Why would it be a meme because it's not mentioned in a philosophical context? As the title suggests, it's about war and strategy.

it's full of "dude know your enemy" -tier """wisdoms"""
i read it as an edgy teenager and gained absolutely nothing

Really get the sense its a war manual and good to take in that capacity, but only in broad terms if you're trying to apply it to different eras of warfare.

If you're trying to apply it to life in general go back to barely passing business school.

a 3 milenium old book on the basics of war. It covers everything that is basic. Some versions have good commentaries and pratical historical events on the theories

It's interesting if you find history and historical warfare interesting. It's also like a 40 minute read just see for yourself.

This. If you're wanting to apply it in modern life, (unless you're actually commanding an army and don't have a clue about how to that) then it's a meme and so are you.

>Is it better in Chinese?