Why is it that self-taught writers have more charm than University-educated writers...

Why is it that self-taught writers have more charm than University-educated writers? I'm talking about people like Jorge Luis Borges or Clark Ashton Smith, among many others. Does formal education kill creativity?

Attached: 1542338433624.png (326x327, 27K)

yes

Formal education hems in your ideas about what literature is and what it is capable of.

I don't understand what makes Aleister Crowley so evil. Like what did he do? Wear a silly hat and write schizoposts?

drugs, sexual deviancy, espionage, etc

Jorge Luis Borges did study literature at a university though, it shows in his writing as well.

I agree with you however, I've always considered G.B. Shaw the most charismatic author to ever exist, and without a doubt he never would have been able to write the way he did being held down in an institution.

University teaches you what to think, what to write, what opinions to have about what things, often while merely presenting enough prestige and noise to seem convincing, while falling back on obviously biased cynicism towards anything they don't understand. People who are self taught, are generally more susceptible to the aesthetics of an argument rather than social vogue, and tend to be drawn accordingly towards metaphysics, Schopenhauer, conspiracies, and mysticism.

That's just a reflection of your interests. Other people find university types interesting and informal types non-interesting. Don't make the mistake of conflating your interests with truth. Why do you find certain types of people interesting verus others? I'd have to know you to tell you that. You're a product of your genes and your environment. I don't know your genes or your environment.