Why is music from the past fetishized so much?

Why is music from the past fetishized so much?

Attached: 34534634345346.png (800x600, 56K)

on the whole pretty accurate representation of rock music

some underground stuff from the late 70s/early 80s is up there with the best of all time though

Because good music from the past was preserved for us to see by all the critics and magazines and we have to look for the good music now
>that dip from late 70s through the 80s

The dadrock canon should be destroyed along with all its worshippers

Hopefully we're bottoming out and the 20s will be amazing. Honestly I can't see how anything will be worse than 2019, but I've been saying that every year for the past 10 years.

kek literally everything you can imagine went to shit in the period between 2006 and 2008

Amazing really.

First of rym has an obvious bias just by the format of rating primarily albums, it's already catered to a rockist group who's canon is formed in the 1965-1967 time period. Secondly, it's not so much at that past if fetishized, but that there were material conditions that made quality music far more likely. There were larger filters in place to stop bad music from getting out, and there was more wealth generation across all groups during that post-war boom that allowed people to devote time to becoming musicians in ways that were less of a gamble than trying to do so professionally today.

Third this metric deals with the number that comprise the top 500. It's pretty unlikely a new record, no matter how good will break this as it is working against years and years of canonization and historical relevancy/influence. Your case would be more convincing if you looked at the ratings of albums from 1960 to 2010 in 20 years.

1910 music started...

Everyone knows the 2000’s have been shit for albums. Is this really something that there’s big disagreement about?

there's loads of pseuds who will try to tell you otherwise