What multitrack recorder should I buy?

Analogue or digital?
I'm considering entering a bidding war for a TASCAM 488 (8 track cassette)
*OR* I could just buy a TASCAM DP-03SD (8 track digital, pictured)

Would be grateful for thoughts/advice

Attached: dp03sd.jpg (900x621, 118K)

bump

bump

A crap analogue will always be worse than a good digital. It depends on your particular setup and goals.

I’m a professional audio engineer. I suggest going the digital route, possibly investing in an interface, a good microphone, and pro tools or logic or reason. If you don’t want to go that route the digital tascam is a good choice

just want to mess around, try and make some catchy tunes, analogue warmth vs ease of use with digital

I only record on my 424. I love recording to tape, it has a much different sound than digital. Some people think it's a pain in the ass but i can't stand working on a daw. Never used a digital 4track though. I've been dying for a 488.

thanks, again it's just a hobby, I remember when I was younger my older cousin had an old Yamaha 4 track and it's like that

Ok, since it’s a hobby you either are going for workflow and ease of use vs aesthetic and sound choice. So it’s between digital and analog, what kind of music do u make?

Yeah, I imagine recording onto cassette is a steeper learning curve, thing is all these old analogue multitrack home recorders are obvs discontinued and they're vintage and all that so they go for a lot of money, and then there's maintenance to consider

I don't really make music, I play piano and guitar

Ok, then either would be a good choice. As a hobbyist you may have more fun with analog (tape loops, tape distortion, etc etc) and with digital you have looping and various digital effects, cutting band pastings etc. many choices to consider. I hope you enjoy, I remember my first dive into recording music.

*cutting and pasting

If you were in my shoes which one would you go for?