I’m New To The Sonic Franchise

What am I in for?

Attached: DBFBC653-209B-4DA8-8CF2-03FC280F4191.jpg (1770x3509, 421K)

Only play classic Sonic and Mania if you want an authentic Sonic experience. Avoid all adventureshit and boostshit.

75% shit, 20% mediocrity, 5% great games and 100% to remember the name

Attached: 5076124679.png (1287x858, 1.61M)

The only good games were on the Genesis. Every single emulator I've tried has had all sorts of slowdown issues. Good fucking luck since all the 3D sonics are a broken mess, and at best are easy games for children when they work correctly.

a whole lot of cringey autism.

Fun sometimes awful sometimes

A fucking mess. If you want to get started with a particular game, I recommend
>Classic - 1, 2, 3 & Knuckles or Mania
>Dreamcast - Either of the Adventure games
>Modern - Generations, Unleashed or Colors

Utter and absolute back to back disappointment with the occasional tease of a second golden age, followed by even greater disappointment and unthinkable frustration.
>t. 20 year fan.

I've been with this shitty franchise so long it would be a pretty bitchmade move to dip out now, so I'm here till it's truly all said and done, whenever that'll be.

Good to Fantastic games in the main series during the 2D era. Mediocre to Awful games in the 3D era. Spin offs range from Awful to Pretty Good in all eras.

Start with the 2D era games first so you can fully appreciate just how bad some of the 3D games are, and how much wasted potential they have. If you want to further enhance that feeling of disappointment, try some of the 3D Sonic fangame engines floating around and see just how lacking Sonic Team's 3D games really are in comparison.

Honestly, you're better off following 's advice. Everything after the 2D era might as well be a totally different series that redefines what Sonic "is" every other game.