Apathy in the Youth

I am a middle school English teacher in a small midwestern town. I think it goes without saying that my students don't care about Shakespeare or Homer, and this doesn't surprise me in the least, but what I find weird is that these kids don't seem to care about anything whatsoever. I try and get their interest by referencing things like sports and contemporary music and they have no idea what I'm talking about. Maybe they simply aren't comfortable talking about their interests to a teacher but they genuinely seem so ignorant not only of literature and history but of modern day current events. I know literature isn't interesting to everyone but you'd think they would be interested in SOMETHING. Has anyone else noticed this as well?

Attached: on-the-magical-english-teacher-in-life-and-literature-1441303715.jpg (3000x2017, 843.07K)

>my students don't care about Shakespeare or Homer,
No one here cares about them either.

>I try and get their interest by referencing things like sports and contemporary music and they have no idea what I'm talking about.
Could you give an example? Also I hope you're aware your students are just reading the sparknotes of the books you assign.

They are interested in Tiktok and Youtube streamers, gender identity and self-diagnosed mental illness, social media and consoomption. Most of them are heavily medicated. An entire generation raised on social media, more propagandized and atomized than any before.
You have a front-row seat to the fall of an empire, good luck.

>inb4 another 300 reply thread trying to fix a system that can only be fixed by getting rid of the humans in the equation
No but in reality its because most of them spend their free time disconnecting their brain from reality through algorithms that have long ago conquered human synapses. At most some will say music or any other hobby that disinclines engagement.