For those of you who know more than one language, how did you learn?

For those of you who know more than one language, how did you learn?

Attached: 1500644780507.jpg (2772x2112, 1.65M)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtu.be/NiTsduRreug
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

English is not my native language, so... consuming media.
I also speak german, but that was studying through course.

I studied a few years in US (elementary school). I remember it was a black school but I still learned. Consuming English media also helped later on.

10,000 hours of anime
and another 10,000 in anki

Took Latin in high school and kept practicing what I learned after I graduated

english: pop culture
german: school

I learned Latin in highschool, and am currently taking German in College. The two languages are surprisingly similar in terms of Grammar.

Autistically consuming media

Mom speaks good French, decent Spanish. I always enjoyed something about Romance languages, and have pursued that into a good understanding of all of them as well as Latin itself. In school started with French at age ~11-12. Every means possible since then including travel, though it's always been only a hobby for me.

I learned english through mindless media consumption. So it doesn't really feel like much of an accomplishment and just shows how addicted I am.

Attached: 1530755334717.jpg (1600x900, 141K)

Did you use translate to understand at first? How did you over time go from not really understanding english to being fluent? I'm trying to do this with french but I don't quite understand how you make the leap from understanding almost nothing to being able to follow a conversation.

Games, subtitled movies and youtube videos, school.

I don't consider myself to be fluent so forgive me if I make mistakes.