Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev

What does Yea Forums think of this book?

Attached: F86AF563-6430-4AB8-80CB-71F4031EAEAA.jpg (329x499, 28K)

I bought it to read over the summer. I'm excited. I've been so busy in school studying boring ass rhetoric texts and editing shit that I'm excited to read an actual novel again

>I’m an undergrad who hasn’t read the book yet but give me attention teehee!

Fuck off if you have nothing to contribute, moron.

it's fine I guess
nice love story

I wouldn’t classify this novel as primarily a love story. It’s so much more than that. But, after all, romanticism does permeate all of Turgenev’s work.

as russian speaker i can say that Turgenev was shit. Traislations upgrade he's prose tho, and you can enjoy it, if you can generally enjoy purple prose descriptions

An easy and enjoyable read, but not nearly as deep as you would expect (judging on its theme and 'classic' status).
I'd trust what says

Something bothering you, pal?

>as deep as you would expect
Do you expect everyone to write deep works?

Anyway, the man was the first to capture the type of riddit atheist that has been observed for 150 years now, what else do you want from him?

I preferred A Sportsman’s Sketches to be desu

You are allowed to like both, user.

Fine novel. Bit too formulaic and sentimental for my taste.

Sportman's Sketches is fucking magic. Read it with absolute glee. I'm gonna pick it up tomorrow now that you remind me.

>reading book for sluts

hahahhahahahahahaha

They're completely different user.... It's like liking The Iliad and Madame Bovary. Nobodies taste is that diverse.

it's one of my favourites
for me it really captured that time in your life when you come home from university as a new adult and that weird relationship with your parents as you all adjust
it's an incredibly warm book full of feeling for everyone and it makes me happy

>It's like liking The Iliad and Madame Bovary. Nobodies taste is that diverse.
For me, its Spring Torrents