Have you read the big three?

Have you read the big three?
What did you think of each one of them?

Attached: 1453705786910.jpg (1222x575, 257K)

Other urls found in this thread:

vocaroo.com/i/s05PD3JTPh1w
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

Pseud books. Dislike them. Pretentious, formidably mediocre and boring. In the undergraduate English curriculum. Hard pass.

Attached: nabokov.jpg (961x826, 128K)

The term 'pretentious' is only used by amateur critics. Notice that no writer criticises another writing using the word 'pretentious' no matter how much they hate it, including Nabokov.

I'm like 60% through the jest. I'm pretty new to lit and really enjoying. I think it's changing my perspective of what a book can be/accomplish.
Is there anything you guys would recommend to read after? I'm really liking the huge narrative and the way the stories slowly become connected.

Let’s put this word in ‘reddit core’

Attached: 1400887121507.png (1044x495, 710K)

You really saved this huh

I read Infinite Jest, which is really at best an introduction to the other two. I had been planning on reading Ulysses next, but I've been reading a few books which are stylistically similar to Gravity's Rainbow, and I might put it in my sights next, but then I'd be postponing my backlog in favor of one of my densest books yet again. Previously I read through the beach scene of Ulysses (incredible but exhausting) and quit, and when I first opened up Gravity's Rainbow I just found it irritatingly overwritten, but I've been reading lots of big boy books and I think maybe I'm ready.

What would make up the pre-Modernism moderns Meme Trilogy? Lately I'm thinking Gargantua and Pantagruel, Don Quixote, and Tristram Shandy.

Lolita, Kavalier and Clay

Not an argument.

I liked GR, although I preffered M&D and Against the Day on Pynchons work.

Loved Ulysses, just loved it. Reread it twice last year. It earns the hype.

Didn't much like IJ, no discernable talent.