Are there any films similar to Persona? I'm rather new to film and I love every moment of this

Are there any films similar to Persona? I'm rather new to film and I love every moment of this.

Attached: 59539445-54F5-4F24-A980-299805DE99DE.jpg (690x495, 46K)

Other urls found in this thread:

mosesfarrow.blogspot.com/2018/05/a-son-speaks-out-by-moses-farrow.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Watch rest of Bergman's films. Celine and Julie Go Boating and Mulholland are kind of similar to Persona.

*Mulholland Drive

fuck i hate bergman

thanks user

Obviously the rest of Bergman’s kinography. Look up a list of the most influential directors of the twentieth century fot some entry tier films. This way you’ll also find out which styles you like. Always keep an open mind but never be afraid to call a movie shit

In terms of a straight drama about two women:
Todd Hayne's 'Carol' with Rooney Mara and Cate Blanchett is genius
The Handmaiden
My Brilliant Friend on HBO is an amazing series along similar lines.

My favourite other Bergman films are Summer with Monika, Scenes from a Marriage & Through the Glass Darkly

I also highly recommend Jan Troel's The Emigrants & The New Land. Liv Ullman (Bergman's most famous actor), said it was the best thing she ever did. Also Max Von Sydow. Amazing series.

And for something Bergman-esque (atleast scandinavian and capturing the eroticism of it) and also about an intense relationship between two women, I highly recommend Joachim Trier's 'Thelma', which actually managed to achieve what Bergman never could, and make a brilliant genre film which still manages to play to the directors strengths (Bergman's attempt at it with Hour of the Wolf, a Horror, was possibly his worst movie).

Thelma is genius though, and Triar in general has imo picked up the Bergman mantle the best for the region atleast. Oslo 31st August is also genius and very Bergman-y.

I loved it, my favorite Bergman film.

Sunset BLVD
Mullholland Drive
8 1/2