Can anyone explain the hype behind Hickman to me?

Can anyone explain the hype behind Hickman to me?

Secret Warriors fizzled out after 30 issues instead of pruposed 60+.
Ultimates showed a lot of promise but is pretty much a well made abortion.
Avengers + New Avengers were full of ""epic""" grandstanding, important shit going on off-screen, underwhelming conclusions and badly defined arcs.

Plus the samey "look at me I'm a designer" look to every books and the cancerous "two-page spread with nothing but credits" that went to shit on practically every Marvel book.

Where's all the goodwill that makes people cheer for him on X-Men coming from?

Attached: 1637408-jonathan_hickman_2.jpg (561x640, 48K)

Read his indie work. The design thing works best in black Monday murders where it's part of the storytelling.
East of West and Manhattan Projects are just, I dunno how to describe it. He's a smarter writer than most people in comics and sometimes that's a hindrance but I like his non-linear plotting style, big ideas, and he has some genuinely endearing characters under his belt (Babylon in East of West or the Einsteins in Manhattan Projects)
As for x-men, he loves the characters (said this is the first of his marvel books he didn't think of as a job) and he's saying all the right shit. He even is unhappy with his avengers run

>the first of his marvel books he didn't think of as a job
Given his interviews, it is implied he's got no one above him to tell him "No" in regards to the story, which isn't necessarily a good thing.

>conveniently leaving out F4 and ALL of his indie work
Fuck off shitter

Well they could have shot him down during pitching stages, so the implication is they like what he has to offer.

He's talked about how his two favorite teams are essentially the X-Men and The Legion of Superheroes. Every writer should get a chance at their favorites, because they'll put the most effort into that.