Spiderman

I am completely new to reading comic books and wanted to start with Spiderman. Where should I begin? Should I just read 1963 Amazing Spider-Man? Or Ultimate Spider-Man? I honestly have no clue where to begin.

Attached: proxy.duckduckgo.jpg (1280x1958, 549K)

Other urls found in this thread:

cbr.com/50-greatest-spider-man-stories-master-list/.
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

IMO start at the very beginning of the original run. Spider-Man is at it's core a procedural, and the first run is awesome at sucking you into Peter's world.

Ok so start at 1963 Amazing Spider-Man, but how far should I go?

Start at the Stan Lee/Ditko stuff and go from there. The first twenty issues introduce pretty much all of the classic Spidey villains and the Ditko art is great.

If you're totally new to comics, I'd say give them a try, if you can get on with the Silver Age Spidey, you'll be able to enjoy early FF, early X-Men, Batman, Flash, Daredevil etc. I always think that people who start with modern comics struggle to appreciate some of the charm and ingenuity in the classics, whereas if you can get on with the old stuff you'll have no problem with 20 pages of almost nothing happening when you start reading the 00s and 10s.

If you do find it too old-fashioned, then I'd say skip to the eighties and read the black suit saga and go from there. You can always go back and read classic runs if you want to - don't forget that nearly everyone who ever read Spidey started in the middle. For years, Marvel comics were written with the idea that any issue could be someone's first - which is why you'll find a lot of exposition and repetition in the early stuff - so you can pretty much jump on anywhere.

Here's a list of CBR's best ever Spidey runs, as voted by fans - cbr.com/50-greatest-spider-man-stories-master-list/.

Hope that helps!

Attached: tumblr_p8eyeg6b1D1ridgmwo1_1280.jpg (700x642, 91K)

I don't like the way they talk in old stuff.
It's like a soap opera.