I'm new to capeshit. Where should I start with Marvel comics...

I'm new to capeshit. Where should I start with Marvel comics? I don't want to have to read 40 years of backlog to follow a plot, or dip into sixty different series's because the writers want you to buy more comics for the complete story.

Basically, whats some marvel capeshit that doesn't pull typical capeshit tropes?

Attached: marvel-comics-retro-badge-featuring-captain-america_u-l-q134t3w0.jpg (550x550, 101K)

Who's your favorite character? Look into their first Omnibus or Epic Collection, depending on your finances and preferences to hardcover or paperback. InStockTrades and Amazon are your best bets if you don't have a local shop.

I'd recommend the Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus #1. $90 on Amazon, reprinting the entire Stan Lee/Steve Ditko run. Or FF Omnibus #1. The first 30 issues of the FF. It's smaller so it's only $60. Thor by Walt Simonson is another great option. It's about $80-90

>Basically, whats some marvel capeshit that doesn't pull typical capeshit tropes?
None. Marvel has never done anything outside the box.

>Basically, whats some marvel capeshit that doesn't pull typical capeshit tropes?
what do you mean by capeshit tropes?

anyways go to the local comic store and get anything with a number 1 on it. its a myth that you need to know all the history. as long as you know who a character is, youre good.

Anything published before 1990. It's where the masterworks are.

>Anything with a number 1
Well not exactly especially since in recent years Marvel has had the habit of relaunching midarc to try and get a boost of 1 collectors.
Plus a lot of it's trash.

Technically this. Modern marvel shit is mostly terrible. X-stuff is the most obvious recomendation, but prepare to be dissapointed because you won't have any satisfing conclusion whatsoever.